Categories 1970 to 1979

1978 Summer Magazine



1978 Summer Magazine

This publication was the first magazine,  produced Summer 1978, for the newly created  Graig Comprehensive School.

The first year intake was of the Graig, the remainder of the school forms 2,3,4,5, 6B and 6 A streams continued from the original Grammar School.

The head was R I Denis Jones, Deputies – D R l Smith (administration),M Rees, head Middle School, Mrs. E E Morgan, head Junior school;  Senior Masters L J Sutherns, head Senior school, G I Evans Director of Studies .Assistant teachers 50,peripatectics 5,Admin 3 including Keith Walters.

Retired staff – Maelgwyn Thomas B.A., joined 1949,deputy 1972,Head of Modern Languages in 1950.;Hugh Dunn Jenkins  B.Sc., former pupils, joined 1957,1974 head Geography and Geology.

First year intake to Graig was approximately 200 pupils in classes 1 to 7,including Claire Sayer ,5th class, current committee member since 2014 of Grammar/Graig Former Pupils Association

This magazine covers years 1977 & 1978. School was also producing the ‘Jester’ Newspaper  -for almost the last 10 years, 110 issues to date !

Academically amongst many successes the school also had one pupil Michael Morris accepted Oxford 1977,and 3 pupils to Oxford and Cambridge 1978 including Ian Jones, Huw Morgan and Michael Harries

Theatre – 1977 musical Mr Chips,1978 Treasure Island, producer Noel Rees, both highly successful.

Old Boys Union;- president R I Dennis Jones, Patrons S G Rees, D A Thomas. Sec. Eric Lewis, Assistant Paul Oram, Hon. Treasurer Alan Jones. London branch – 60 Old Boys. Union presented an electric organ to the school – played at presentation by Huw Tregellis Williams. Also Scholarship prize presented to Anthony Harries ( son of previous headteacher ) for Missionary work in Bangladesh

School Societies/Clubs including master in charge :-  Arts – Dr Leonard Pugh,  English Faculty Bookstall and Book club – B Darby., History – Glenda Thomas, Stamp Society -Miss I Meyler, 6th Form Science – Dennis Phillips, also including Pupil chairperson :- Geography – Nigel Trinkler 6A, Junior Science – Stuart Davies, Chess Society Julian Sharp also Home Economics Department

Sport included:-

Athletics, Cross Country, Netball, Swimming, Cricket, Tennis, Soccer and Rugby


Prize Day 1977 gave out the following  ” Annual Endowed Prizes ” namely

E H Foster

J B Morgan

Graham Rees

William Lewis

G J Thomas

T V Shaw

John Whittan Jones Memorial Prize

Dr Idris Jones  ( ( 4 no prizes )

Old Boys’ Union

Mrs. Irish Joseph Progress prize

  • Can anyone advise if we can ascertain the details of these prizes and how to locate -where do we look to retrieve.
  • Please communicate to the :-
  • Thankyou





and off course rugby